Analysing Quantitive Data

I tested the incomplete mechanics level on 2 participants last week. These were pretty shaky tests, as things weren’t finished and I was learning the ropes. Despite a lot going wrong, I got some good data and I think this will mean that when I do more tests on the finished mechanics level at the end of this week I’ll do a lot better.

In order to see an overall change in the mood of participants, I assigned each answer a 1-5 value, with 5 representing overall positivity and 1 overall negativity. Answering agree on I feel relaxed and calm gives a 4, whereas answering agree on I feel stressed gives a 2. This seemed to work well as an overall indicator of positivity.

I also created a second scale that uses 1-5 for strongly disagree – strongly agree for all questions, and uses this to measure negitivity against positivity, giving two numbers that can be compared. When trying to work with this, the neutral option became a problem so I tried strongly agree = 2, agree = 1, neutral = 0, disagree = -1, strongly disagree = -2. This was also an issue, as ratios shouldn’t be negitive. In the end I settled for a Positive:Neutal:Negitive ratio. Agree answers in positives and disagree answers in negatives were positive, agree answers in negitives and disagree answers in positives were negitive and neither agree nor disagree answers were neutral.

The last question on the during play questionnaire – “did you feel present in the game?” is not used here, as it cannot be compared and will skew overall data.

Leave a Reply

