Landscape Material

I had no idea where to start with my landscape material, so used this video for help.

It was very simple once I knew what to do! I created a layer blend with slots for rocks, grass, forest, sand and water and filled them with placeholder textures. I look at some pictures on google images of these different materials interacting to figure out that the blend order would be: grass, sand, forest, rock, water.

materals

I was having issues painting on to the landscape at first, so took away the rock and water textures. This seemed to do the trick – I didn’t really need them anyway.

painting

I was then able to paint on the areas of different materials.

landscape 6

I added proper materials afterwords to get a better look. I really like how it turned out! Its likely these materials will change but they work for now.

Material 2 Material1

Leave a Reply

