Tree Model

The last model for my test scene is a tree. Trees are such a pain! I considered using something like speedtree, but I think its better for my development to model it myself. I extruded along splines to get the branch shape, which worked fine, but combining the meshes was a bit of a pain. I know that some approaches to tree modeling involve just sticking the meshes together and not combining, but I think that that is pretty bad practice when it comes to topology.

tree 1

UVing was a bit of a nightmare – that was a lot of cylindracle unwraps! I considered the plane on four sides approach here, but with so many twisting branches doing them individually just seemed like a better plan.

uvs uvs2

To be honest I’m not sure what to think of the model – I’ll sculpt it up and paint it and see where it goes from there.

Leave a Reply

