Waterfall Concept

Water was a really common theme in the meditations I did earlier, so a waterfall was top on my list for concepting. Its been ages since I did 2D so its been fun to do it again, but a bit difficult. Concept art is NOT a strong point for me at all but I’m happy enough with this that it tells me what I need to know.

I added the trees from the forest meditation, and some shafts of light to warm the player and create positive feelings. I also added a rock with symbols as a point of interest, and a wee river that the player can follow. I should be able to extend this space into a meadow, fire and cabin areas, with some weather variations.

Waterfall

I added a colour layer after this – I would love to be able to colour the whole drawing properly, but I am super slow at painting and I don’t think it would be a good use of my time. Of course, colour is important to the project, so I need a good colour scheme, but it can be shown flat like this. I derrived my colours from the moodboard I made of the forest, as it provided warm, calm feelings.

Waterfall colour

Here are some shots of my scribbley process!

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Leave a Reply

