3-Way Monitors

I got the triple head to go from Lynn today, so I could test triple projection, but found that my laptop didn’t actually have a mini displayport input. However, my HDMI switch arrived today, so I tested the game on triple monitors whilst waiting for a displayport to hdmi converter.

I had quite a few issues setting this up, but got it eventually. The first hurdle was the the hdmi switch splits the signal, so is only able to duplicate displays, not extend them.

damn

Despite this, I gave my game a try over two monitors, but couldn’t change the window size. I was really stumped at this point.

20150114_140712
I had heard that a program called DisplayFusion was able to treat two monitors as one, so I downloaded it, but couldn’t find any options for this in the program or in its help.

Last thing I did was take another look at my graphics card options. I noticed that as well as the SLI features not being present, I didn’t have display options, which defiantly should have been there. I did a bit of googling and found out that my built in card was actually overriding the NVIDIA card. I had looked in the intel settings before and found nothing useful, but on closer inspection I found options for multiple monitors in a hidden menu. This allowed me to treat two of the monitors as one (I still had the duplicate problem) and set a bevel on the image to sew the image more effectively.

20150114_152212

Testing this out on some games wielded pretty bad results, but my own game worked really nicley. Its obvious that two monitors are the same, but when using them for peripheral vision only this wasn’t an issue and allowed me to have a glimpse at how 3 way projection might look.

20150114_141305

I found that in comparison to the oculus, this method of presentation was less immersive but much more elegant and simple to get started with. (From the user’s perspective – not mine!!!) It reduces a lot of sickness and distress issues that my project might have. I also really like the idea of games as installations now, being quite inspired by the Transmission project paper I looked at on Monday. I’m going to try and find some examples of this later.

20150114_152643

I felt that with the game itself, the use of peripheral vision really added to the idea of presence within the game world – that the game is the dominating reality. By creating presence, immersion is produced. This is true of the oculus as well of course. I guess in the end its a toss up between a clunky headset and possible sickness, or setting up tech and still seeing the outside world.

20150114_153212

I tested the game with on board sound, headphones and speakers angled to match the surround of the monitors. With on board sound the sense of presence was really reduced. Headphones were good, but the surround-style sound was fantastic. The ambient will have to be played with for volume but the sound effects being played right next to the player really brought a sence of reality to the experience. I’d like to get some real surround sound speakers to test this.

20150114_153130

20150114_153334

Leave a Reply

