Surround Projection Research

An idea that Lynn suggested to me a while back was the use of 3 way projection to create an immersive experience.

It is doable in Unity, and in Unreal by the looks of it, though I haven’t found any resources for this yet.

My graphics card supports projection though NVIDIA surround, but my motherboard doesn’t, so I can’t just plug in and go. It looks like an HDMI splitter will set up 3 screens quite easily, but its a question of getting unreal to do the surround display and getting 3 hdmi projectors.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0015YRMXI/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B0015YRMXI&linkCode=as2&tag=cheapestrouters-20&linkId=HQZCG57HQJLWCRY3

http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/150493-unreal-engine-4-on-a-triple-monitor-setup/

http://www.geforce.co.uk/whats-new/guides/how-to-correctly-configure-geforce-gtx-680-surround#2

I went and bought myself an HDMI splitter and had a go, but I ended up buying the 3 in 1 out instead of the other way around! Annoying. I’ve ordered the correct switch on amazon, so hopefully I can test the game on 3 monitors, before begging/borrowing/stealing projection equipment.

20150112_170344 20150112_170350

Leave a Reply

