Winter Break Project

Over the winter break I’m going to work on a portfolio piece rather than my honours project, as I’m working towards applying for jobs in January and feel like I’m in a good place with my project. I wanted to do something that combined all my areas of interest – environment art, rigging, fx and maybe a bit of animation if I can learn it. Lynn suggested that a good way to do this would be to make a vehicle, and that I could use it as a replacement for “Fabled Flower” one of my older environment pieces on my folio.

With this in mind, I want to create something in the same style as “Fabled Flower”. I looked over this old work and figured out the key elements that make up its visual style and workflow.

Visual Style + Theme

Influenced by Shadow of the Colossus, Tomb Riader 2013 and Far Cry

Story influenced by Dragon Age and Nightwish songs.

Fantasy Theme

Very organic

Highly Saturated

Lots of Specular – Wet Look

Lots of pink and green – not enough colour variance

Stylised, closer to realism than something hand painted though

Workflow

Textures are watercolours overlaid on photos

Normals were sculpted in mudbox

So I want to create a vehicle in this style, that uses similar workflows to the “Fabled Flower”, though I’d like to avoid photos as much as I can. I think creating a vehicle in a fantasy setting could be a bit of a challenge, as motors and things have not typically been invented in those sort of settings.

I made some mood boards to help me get some ideas. The first game I looked at was WoW, as its a big influence to me right now.

WoW Moodboard

WoW has a lot of motorbike sort of vehicles, which work in that setting but probably don’t work in mine. I was a lot more inpired by the airships of Final Fantasy, as something like that might fit into my world better. It looks like these were inspired by flying animals and art deco.

Final Fantast Moodboard

I looked at the idea of a normal ship as well, using Assasin’s Creed Black Flag as an example.

assasins creed moodboard

Leave a Reply

