Abstract Water FX

Taking inspiration from both Nintendo’s The Wind Waker and Oskar Fischinger’s work I created an abstract version of my previous water effect. I took the abstract butterfly effect and reused it here, to create a blocky version that mimicks the movment of water but does not represent it.

water1

I wanted the individual shapes to be more obvious, so I took down the rate and added colour over life for some variation.

water2

I then got to work on the splashes, this time combining it into one particle effect.

water3

I changed the size and velocity quite a bit from the previous version, looking at wind waker’s splashes. I used a circle for the splashes and made it larger than before. I also made the spread of the effect bigger.

water4

I then added the small on water splashes, again making these circular and a little wider.

water5

Here’s the full effect!

water6

Abstract Water FX from Amy Stevens on Vimeo.

 

Leave a Reply

