Prototype Version Control

After the issues I had at the start of the week, I felt it was important I got version control set up. This however, was not an easy task. I chose git originally, as programmer friends told me that it was the best thing to use with Unreal.

1

I found an ignore file on the Unreal answer hub which was really useful and was able to add this and learn how to commit and revert.

3

Unfortunately this was as far as I got. I tried to add my project folder to the repo after this and it just failed to commit every time.

7

I also tried to use the git plugin for unreal. This is compatible with 4.2 and up, and my project is on 4.1. I tried upgrading the project, but my frame rate dropped horribly.

6 5

I talked about my issue at game dev society and was told to try setting up my repo though the command line. I found this really difficult. The tutorials I looked at presumed prior knowledge of the command line and I had trouble with the dir commands. I was able to clone my repo, just not into the right folder.

8

I tried a different git gui, but had just as much luck with this as git for windows.

9

In the end, I decided to try setting it up with tortoise hg, as I had this on my pc already and had used it for previous projects. I had never set up a repo, but I’m familiar enough with the interface. With this I was able to create a local repo quite easily. It took me a while to work out how to revert properly, but now that I’ve worked it out I have a working set up.

10

Quite disappointed that I couldn’t set up git, however, I have working version control now and that was the most important thing! In terms of personal and professional goals, I am aware that tech artists are often required to have knowlege of version control, so this is something I need to come back to and learn properly. I have a proposal deadline looming right now though, so I think I had better concentrate on that first!

Leave a Reply

