Unreal’s God Rays

I looked at the light shaft/god ray blueprint in the office demo – there is NO WAY I am making that this afternoon. I doubt I could set up something like that in a week! The individual elements – master and instanced materials, some textures and a static mesh I could make quite easily but the logic in the blueprint is pretty complicated.  I wanted to get the scene finished off before class today so I migrated the blueprint across into my scene and set up some rays. I think this really adds some ambiance – the players eye is directed to the central figure (or in this case default geometry) of the piece which pulls my randomly assembled room into something that looks more deliberately composed. This could be useful in game design, to pull the player towards goals.

godrays

I would like to have a go at setting up my own rays system, probably something simpler than the control that Unreal’s system allows.

Sources

https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Resources/Showcases/BlueprintExamples/FogSheet/index.htm

Leave a Reply

